Slashdot Items Tagged "os"

Date / Time Story
Tuesday October 17, 2017 @05:29PM Android Oreo Helps Google's Pixel 2 Smartphones Outperform Other Android Flagships
Monday October 16, 2017 @05:19PM Microsoft's Fall Update With Redesigned Xbox Dashboard Is Now Available To All
Friday October 13, 2017 @06:01PM Latest iOS Update Shows Apple Can Use Software To Break Phones Repaired By Independent Shops
Friday October 13, 2017 @04:42PM Dutch Privacy Regulator Says Windows 10 Breaks the Law
Wednesday October 11, 2017 @04:43PM Is the Chromebook the New Android Tablet?
Tuesday October 10, 2017 @06:07PM OxygenOS Telemetry Lets OnePlus Tie Phones To Individual Users
Tuesday October 10, 2017 @04:34PM KDE Plasma 5.11 Released
Tuesday October 10, 2017 @04:31PM How Does Microsoft Avoid Being the Next IBM?
Monday October 09, 2017 @04:29PM OpenBSD 6.2 Released
Monday October 09, 2017 @03:27PM Windows 10 Update Removes Windows Media Player
Monday October 09, 2017 @02:09PM Slashdot Asks: Does the World Need a Third Mobile OS?
Monday October 09, 2017 @09:59AM Microsoft Exec Says Windows 10 Mobile is No Longer a 'Focus'
Friday October 06, 2017 @07:10PM Apple Doesn't Deliberately Slow Down Older Devices According To Benchmark Analysis
Thursday October 05, 2017 @04:41PM Uber's iOS App Had Secret Permissions That Allowed It to Copy Your Phone Screen, Researchers Say
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @07:28PM Mozilla To End All Firefox Support For XP, Vista In June 2018
Tuesday October 03, 2017 @07:25PM According To Star Trek: Discovery, Starfleet Still Runs Microsoft Windows
Monday October 02, 2017 @04:10PM Microsoft Shutters Groove Music, Will Move Users To Spotify
Sunday October 01, 2017 @01:00PM Meet The Next Major Operating System: Amazon's Alexa
Friday September 29, 2017 @12:31PM Ask Slashdot: Whatever Happened To the 'Year of Linux on Desktop'?
Friday September 22, 2017 @08:55PM Microsoft and Canonical Make Custom Linux Kernel
Thursday September 21, 2017 @03:53PM Firefox For iOS Gets Tracking Protection, Firefox Focus For Android Gets Tabs
Wednesday September 20, 2017 @07:03PM Bill Gates Says He's Sorry About Control-Alt-Delete
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @04:01PM iOS 11 Released
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @10:38AM Results of the Ubuntu Desktop Applications Survey
Friday September 15, 2017 @04:44PM HP Users Complain About 10-Minute Login Lag During 'Win 10 Update'
Thursday September 14, 2017 @04:39PM KDE Plasma 5.11 Beta Released
Wednesday September 13, 2017 @08:54PM GNOME 3.26 Released
Wednesday September 13, 2017 @03:29PM Windows 10 Will Soon Give Users More Control Over App Permissions
Tuesday September 12, 2017 @05:00PM Apple Is Releasing macOS High Sierra On September 25
Tuesday September 12, 2017 @04:30PM BlueBorne Vulnerabilities Impact Over 5 Billion Bluetooth-Enabled Devices
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @06:40PM Android Oreo Bug Eats Up Mobile Data Even When On Wi-Fi
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @04:27PM Android Oreo's Rollback Protection Will Block OS Downgrades
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @04:11PM Chrome 61 Arrives With JavaScript Modules, WebUSB Support
Tuesday September 05, 2017 @07:22PM TrustZone Downgrade Attack Opens Android Devices To Old Vulnerabilities
Tuesday September 05, 2017 @04:25PM Microsoft Extends Free Windows 10 S-To-Pro Upgrade Deadline
Tuesday September 05, 2017 @12:37PM Linux Kernel 4.13 Officially Released
Sunday September 03, 2017 @12:53PM With Android Oreo, Google Is Introducing Linux Kernel Requirements
Sunday September 03, 2017 @12:38PM ReactOS 0.4.6 Released
Sunday September 03, 2017 @12:21PM Is Apple Copying Palm's WebOS?
Friday September 01, 2017 @03:06PM Petition Asks the Developers of Phoenix OS to Open Source the Kernel
Friday September 01, 2017 @12:39PM Linux Desktop Market Share Crosses 3%
Friday September 01, 2017 @09:33AM Windows 10 Fall Creators Update to Arrive October 17
Wednesday August 30, 2017 @06:57PM Palm Devices Are Coming In 2018 Without WebOS, Says Report
Wednesday August 23, 2017 @02:31PM Microsoft Will Never Again Sneakily Force Windows Downloads on Users
Tuesday August 22, 2017 @06:06PM Slashdot Asks: What Are Your Favorite Android Oreo Features?
Monday August 21, 2017 @03:41PM Android O Is Now Officially Android Oreo
Saturday August 19, 2017 @07:59PM postmarketOS Pursues A Linux-Based, LTS OS For Android Phones
Friday August 18, 2017 @04:58PM Android O Is Officially Launching August 21
Thursday August 17, 2017 @06:21PM iOS 11 Has a Feature To Temporarily Disable Touch ID
Thursday August 17, 2017 @05:42PM PlayStation 4 Update 5.0 Officially Revealed
Thursday August 17, 2017 @04:36PM Hacker Claims To Have Decrypted Apple's Secure Enclave Processor Firmware
Saturday August 12, 2017 @12:11AM A New Amiga Will Go On Sale In Late 2017
Tuesday August 08, 2017 @05:13PM Microsoft Dumps Notorious Chinese Secure Certificate Vendor
Monday August 07, 2017 @04:03PM Android 8.0's 'Streaming OS Updates' Will Work Even If Your Phone Is Full
Saturday August 05, 2017 @01:48PM Linux Kernel Hardeners Grsecurity Sue Open Source's Bruce Perens
Friday August 04, 2017 @06:12PM BLU Claims Innocence, Gets Phones Reinstated On Amazon
Wednesday August 02, 2017 @04:53PM Microsoft Is Updating the Windows Console Colors For the First Time In 20 Years
Monday July 31, 2017 @06:22PM Is the iPhone 'Years' Ahead of Android In Photography?
Monday July 31, 2017 @04:52PM Bluetooth Battery Level Indicators May Soon Be Coming To Android
Saturday July 29, 2017 @01:49AM Microsoft's 'Windows Subsystem For Linux' Finally Leaves Beta
Thursday July 27, 2017 @04:23PM FreeBSD 11.1 Released
Tuesday July 25, 2017 @04:42AM Microsoft Confirms It's Not Killing Off Paint After Outpouring of Support
Monday July 24, 2017 @06:34PM iOS 11 Will Prevent Your iPhone From Automatically Connecting To Unreliable Wi-Fi Networks
Sunday July 23, 2017 @03:30PM Debian 'Stretch' Updated With 9.1 Release
Friday July 21, 2017 @11:13PM Slackware, Oldest Linux Distro Still In Active Development, Turns 24
Thursday July 20, 2017 @05:28PM Ubuntu 16.10 Reaches End of Life
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @04:13PM Samsung's 'Bixby' Voice Assistant Finally Launches In US
Tuesday July 18, 2017 @07:02PM Android Backdoor 'GhostCtrl' Can Silently Record Your Audio, Video and More
Tuesday July 18, 2017 @05:35PM Some OnePlus 5s Are Reportedly Rebooting After Dialing 911
Monday July 17, 2017 @08:03PM Exploit Derived From EternalSynergy Upgraded To Target Newer Windows Versions
Monday July 17, 2017 @04:54PM Windows 10 Creators Upgrade Cuts Support For Some Intel PCs Early
Monday July 17, 2017 @12:40PM 'Windows 10 Is Failing Us'
Tuesday July 11, 2017 @04:55PM 24 Cores and the Mouse Won't Move: Engineer Diagnoses Windows 10 Bug
Tuesday July 11, 2017 @01:22PM Fedora 26 Linux Distro Released
Tuesday July 11, 2017 @12:39PM Windows Phone Dies Today
Monday July 10, 2017 @04:02PM Ubuntu Is Now Available On the Windows Store
Monday July 10, 2017 @10:06AM Microsoft Will Sell Office, Windows as a Bundle
Sunday July 09, 2017 @12:14AM 48-Year-Old Multics Operating System Resurrected
Thursday July 06, 2017 @06:04PM WikiLeaks Unveils CIA Implants That Steal SSH Credentials From Windows, Linux PCs
Thursday July 06, 2017 @04:12PM OneDrive Has Stopped Working On Non-NTFS Drives
Wednesday July 05, 2017 @07:27PM OpenBSD Will Get Unique Kernels On Each Reboot
Wednesday July 05, 2017 @05:48PM Linux Is Not As Safe As You Think
Monday July 03, 2017 @12:10AM Linux Kernel 4.12 Officially Released
Sunday July 02, 2017 @11:44PM 'Severe' Systemd Bug Allowed Remote Code Execution For Two Years
Sunday July 02, 2017 @02:44PM 'Severe' Systemd Bug Allowed Remote Code Execution For Two Years
Sunday July 02, 2017 @01:10PM 23 Years Of The Open Source 'FreeDOS' Project
Saturday July 01, 2017 @07:11PM While Chrome Dominates, Microsoft Edge Struggles To Attract New Users
Saturday July 01, 2017 @01:50AM Ubuntu Disputes 'Ads In MOTD' Claims
Friday June 30, 2017 @08:25AM France Drops Windows 10 Privacy Case After Microsoft Changes Telemetry Settings
Thursday June 29, 2017 @04:32PM System76 Unveils Its Own Ubuntu-Based Linux Distribution Called 'Pop!_OS'
Wednesday June 28, 2017 @07:27PM WikiLeaks Dump Reveals CIA Malware For Tracking Windows Devices Via WiFi Networks
Wednesday June 28, 2017 @06:00PM London Metropolitan Police's 18,000 Windows XP PCs Is a Disaster Waiting To Happen
Tuesday June 27, 2017 @10:38PM Britain's Newest Warship Runs Windows XP, Raising Cyber Attack Fears
Tuesday June 27, 2017 @04:23PM Microsoft Bringing EMET Back As a Built-In Part of Windows 10
Sunday June 25, 2017 @02:40AM Software Developer Explains Why The Ubuntu Phone Failed
Friday June 23, 2017 @10:39PM Linus Explains What Surprises Him After 25 Years Of Linux
Friday June 23, 2017 @08:32PM Western Tech Firms Bow To Russian Demands To Share Cyber Secrets
Friday June 23, 2017 @05:26PM 32TB of Windows 10 Internal Builds, Core Source Code Leak Online
Friday June 23, 2017 @03:43PM WikiLeaks Doc Dump Reveals CIA Tools For Hacking Air-Gapped PCs
Monday June 19, 2017 @06:16PM The Behind-the-Scenes Changes Found In MacOS High Sierra
Monday June 19, 2017 @05:15PM Microsoft Now Lets Surface Laptop Owners Revert Back To Windows 10 S
Monday June 19, 2017 @02:29PM 'The Unwillingness To Foresee The Future'
Friday June 09, 2017 @10:01AM Skype Retires Older Apps for Windows, Linux
Thursday June 08, 2017 @05:28PM Google Launches Android O Developer Preview 3 With Final APIs
Thursday June 08, 2017 @02:49PM No Known Ransomware Works Against Windows 10 S, Says Microsoft
Wednesday June 07, 2017 @05:17PM Apple To Force Users To 2FA On iOS 11, macOS High Sierra
Wednesday June 07, 2017 @01:38AM Apple To Phase Out 32-Bit Mac Apps Starting In January 2018
Tuesday June 06, 2017 @04:48PM Ubuntu Works With GNOME To Improve HiDPI Support On Linux Desktop
Monday June 05, 2017 @04:35PM Apple's New iOS File Manager Coming This Fall As Part of iOS 11
Monday June 05, 2017 @02:32PM Apple Unveils What's Next For macOS Desktop OS: High Sierra
Monday June 05, 2017 @01:30PM Microsoft Leak Reveals New Windows 10 Workstation Edition For Power Users
Sunday June 04, 2017 @01:18PM OpenELEC 8.0.4 Kodi-Focused Linux Distro Now Available
Saturday June 03, 2017 @11:16PM Ubuntu Touch Mobile OS Now Maintained By UBports
Friday June 02, 2017 @06:39PM CIA Malware Can Switch Clean Files With Malware When You Download Them Via SMB
Friday June 02, 2017 @04:09PM Microsoft Accidentally Released Internal Windows 10 Development Builds
Wednesday May 31, 2017 @04:18PM Technology Is Making the World More Unequal; Only Technology Can Fix This
Tuesday May 30, 2017 @03:54PM Windows XP Computers Were Mostly Immune To WannaCry
Tuesday May 30, 2017 @02:19PM Microsoft's Looking To Reboot Mobile with New Software and Hardware: Sources
Saturday May 27, 2017 @06:38PM Security Analyst Concludes Windows 10 Enterprise 'Tracks Too Much'
Saturday May 27, 2017 @12:54AM Alpine Linux 3.6.0 Released
Friday May 26, 2017 @05:06PM A New Amiga Arrives On the Scene -- the A-EON Amiga X5000
Thursday May 25, 2017 @04:42PM Devuan Jessie 1.0 Officially Released
Tuesday May 23, 2017 @09:52AM Microsoft Announces 'Windows 10 China Government Edition', Lets Country Use Its Own Encryption
Monday May 22, 2017 @01:25AM Linux 4.10 Kernel Reaches End of Life
Saturday May 20, 2017 @06:52PM Endless OS Now Ships With Steam And Slack FlatPak Applications
Friday May 19, 2017 @03:31PM Linux Distros Won't Run On Microsoft's Education-Focused Windows 10 S OS
Friday May 19, 2017 @03:16PM Almost All WannaCry Victims Were Running Windows 7
Friday May 19, 2017 @01:00PM New OS/2 Warp Operating System 'ArcaOS' 5.0 Released
Thursday May 18, 2017 @11:39PM ReactOS 0.4.5 Released
Thursday May 18, 2017 @03:47PM Windows XP PCs Infected By WannaCry Can Be Decrypted Without Paying Ransom
Thursday May 18, 2017 @01:57PM 'WannaCry Makes an Easy Case For Linux'
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @05:34PM Google Home Gets Notifications, Hands-Free Calling, a TV Interface and More
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @04:39PM Android Now Supports the Kotlin Programming Language
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @01:15PM Google's Android Now Powers More Than 2 Billion Devices
Tuesday May 16, 2017 @04:33PM HTC Launches 'U11' Squeezable Smartphone With Snapdragon 835 CPU, No Headphone Jack
Monday May 15, 2017 @10:50PM WikiLeaks Dump Reveals CIA Malware That Can Sabotage User Software
Monday May 15, 2017 @04:02PM Should You Leave Google Chrome For the Opera Browser?
Monday May 15, 2017 @03:39AM Slashdot Asks: In the Wake Of Ransomware Attacks, Should Tech Companies Change Policies To Support Older OSs Indefinitely?
Saturday May 13, 2017 @12:55AM Google's 'Project Treble' Could Lead To Faster Android Updates
Thursday May 11, 2017 @06:21PM Why Doesn't Harvard Want To Talk About Its Mystery Microsoft Azure Project?
Thursday May 11, 2017 @04:56PM Windows 10 On ARM Will Support x86 Apps From Outside the Store
Thursday May 11, 2017 @04:10PM New Windows Look and Feel, Neon, Is Officially the 'Microsoft Fluent Design System'
Thursday May 11, 2017 @12:01PM Microsoft Announces Windows 10 Fall Creators Update, the Next Major Update To Desktop OS
Thursday May 11, 2017 @11:35AM Ubuntu Arrives in the Windows Store, Suse and Fedora Are Coming To the Windows Subsystem For Linux
Wednesday May 10, 2017 @01:17PM Windows 10 Now On 500 Million Devices, Up By 200 Million in a Year
Tuesday May 09, 2017 @08:40AM Opinion: Even if You Hate the Idea, Windows Users Should Want Windows 10 S To Succeed
Tuesday May 09, 2017 @12:12AM Mac Users Installing Popular DVD Ripper Get Nasty Backdoor Instead
Monday May 08, 2017 @04:28PM Google Researchers Find Wormable 'Crazy Bad' Windows Exploit
Monday May 08, 2017 @03:10PM Google's Upcoming 'Fuchsia' Smartphone OS Dumps Linux, Has a Wild New UI
Sunday May 07, 2017 @03:10AM Ask Slashdot: Is ReactOS A Serious Alternative To Windows?
Saturday May 06, 2017 @06:43PM Debian 8.8 Released
Friday May 05, 2017 @10:37PM Amazon Leak Exposes Echo AI Device With Touch Display and FireOS
Thursday May 04, 2017 @01:03PM 'This Isn't AI'
Wednesday May 03, 2017 @05:06PM Court Rules In 'Sextortion' Case That Phone PINs Are Not Protected By Fifth Amendment
Wednesday May 03, 2017 @01:12AM Surface Laptop Can Be Switched To Windows 10 Pro For Free Until 2018
Tuesday May 02, 2017 @11:16PM You Can't Change the Default Browser or Switch To Google Search In Windows 10 S
Tuesday May 02, 2017 @06:21PM Microsoft Is Bringing Office to the Windows Store
Tuesday May 02, 2017 @10:00AM Microsoft Unveils Windows 10 S, an Education Edition Limited To Windows Store Apps
Tuesday May 02, 2017 @09:19AM Linux Mint 18.2 Ubuntu-based OS is Named 'Sonya'
Monday May 01, 2017 @03:57PM Modern 'Hackintoshes' Show That Apple Should Probably Just Build a Mac Tower
Monday May 01, 2017 @10:52AM UEFI Secure Boot Booted From Debian 9 'Stretch'
Monday May 01, 2017 @01:34AM Linux Kernel 4.11 Officially Released
Friday April 28, 2017 @07:43PM Open Ports Create Backdoors In Millions of Smartphones
Thursday April 27, 2017 @04:38PM Should Banks Let Ancient Programming Language COBOL Die?
Wednesday April 26, 2017 @11:25PM Computer Program Prevents 116-Year-Old Woman From Getting Pension
Wednesday April 26, 2017 @04:40PM Ask Slashdot: Are Accurate Software Development Time Predictions a Myth?
Wednesday April 26, 2017 @10:13AM Windows is Bloated, Thanks to Adobe's Extensible Metadata Platform
Tuesday April 25, 2017 @02:26AM BrickerBot, the Permanent Denial-of-Service Botnet, Is Back With a Vengeance
Monday April 24, 2017 @05:14PM NSA's DoublePulsar Kernel Exploit a 'Bloodbath'
Monday April 24, 2017 @12:33PM Linux 4.11 Delayed For a Week
Saturday April 22, 2017 @02:22PM Systemd-Free Devuan Announces Its First Stable Release Candidate 'Jessie' 1.0.0
Friday April 21, 2017 @11:32PM EFF Says Google Chromebooks Are Still Spying On Students
Friday April 21, 2017 @04:42PM Samsung Will Fix the Galaxy S8 Red Tint Issue With a Software Update
Friday April 21, 2017 @12:15PM Developer Publishes Patch To Enable Windows 7 and 8.1 Updates On New Hardware
Thursday April 20, 2017 @01:58PM Microsoft Says It Will Release Two Feature Updates Per Year For Windows 10, Office
Thursday April 20, 2017 @10:22AM File System Improvements To the Windows Subsystem for Linux
Thursday April 20, 2017 @02:13AM China To Question Apple About Live-Streaming Apps On App Store That Violate Internet Regulations
Tuesday April 18, 2017 @06:12PM Benchmarks Show Galaxy S8 With Snapdragon 835 Is a Much Faster Android Handset
Tuesday April 18, 2017 @04:18PM User-Made Patch Lets Owners of Next-Gen CPUs Install Updates On Windows 7 & 8.1
Friday April 14, 2017 @04:53PM Microsoft Confirms Only a Handful of Windows Phones Will Receive Windows 10 Creators Update
Thursday April 13, 2017 @10:56PM Google Photos Can Now Stabilize All Your Shaky Phone Camera Videos
Thursday April 13, 2017 @07:11PM Roku-Enabled TVs Will Soon 'Listen' To Programs You're Watching To Suggest Streaming Content
Thursday April 13, 2017 @03:59PM Former Sysadmin Accused of Planting 'Time Bomb' In Company's Database
Thursday April 13, 2017 @11:12AM Ubuntu 17.04 'Zesty Zapus', Featuring Unity, Now Available To Download
Wednesday April 12, 2017 @07:33PM Microsoft Kills Off Security Bulletins
Wednesday April 12, 2017 @04:54PM Samsung Is Delaying the 'Voice' Part of Its New Bixby Voice Assistant
Tuesday April 11, 2017 @06:09PM Chrome Now Uses Scroll Anchoring To Prevent Those Annoying Page Jumps
Sunday April 09, 2017 @10:26PM OpenELEC 8.0 Linux Distro Released For PC, Raspberry Pi, WeTek Hub
Sunday April 09, 2017 @05:42PM Microsoft Claims Windows 10 Saves Enterprises 28% More Than They Claimed Last Year
Friday April 07, 2017 @11:25PM After 25 Years, 'Lost' OS/2 2.0 Build 6.605 Finally Re-Discovered
Friday April 07, 2017 @03:50PM WikiLeaks Reveals Grasshopper, the CIA's Windows Hacking Tool
Friday April 07, 2017 @03:18PM GNOME Dev Schaller Assures Ubuntu Users the Move To Step Away From Unity Will Bring Consistency Across Linux Distros
Wednesday April 05, 2017 @06:48PM Amazon Will Refund Millions of Unauthorized In-App Purchases Made By Kids
Wednesday April 05, 2017 @05:45PM The Windows 10 Creators Update Is Now Available
Tuesday April 04, 2017 @04:41PM Security Researcher Says Samsung's Tizen OS Is The Worst Code He's Ever Seen
Monday April 03, 2017 @09:52AM Android Overtakes Windows as the Internet's Most Used Operating System
Sunday April 02, 2017 @10:50AM OS/2-Based 'Arcanos 5.0' Has Finally Been Releas -- Oh Wait, No It Wasn't. Never Mind.
Friday March 31, 2017 @07:15PM Microsoft Is Shutting Down CodePlex
Thursday March 30, 2017 @05:34AM Cisco Developing Standalone Networking OS, Report Says
Wednesday March 29, 2017 @09:13PM Verizon To Force 'AppFlash' Spyware On Android Phones