Slashdot Items Tagged "privacy"

Date / Time Story
Monday November 23, 2015 @03:05PM Dell Accused of Installing 'Superfish-Like' Rogue Certificates On Laptops
Sunday November 22, 2015 @09:12AM Whistleblowers: How NSA Created the 'Largest Failure' In Its History
Friday November 20, 2015 @11:23PM Comcast Xfinity Wi-Fi Discloses Customer Names and Addresses
Friday November 20, 2015 @06:57PM Donald Trump Obliquely Backs a Federal Database To Track Muslims
Thursday November 19, 2015 @12:37PM Chicago Sends More Than 100,000 "Bogus" Camera-Based Speeding Tickets
Wednesday November 18, 2015 @10:31PM Georgia Gives Personal Data of 6 Million Voters To Georgia GunOwner Magazine
Wednesday November 18, 2015 @04:36PM Carnegie Mellon Denies FBI Paid For Tor-Breaking Research
Wednesday November 18, 2015 @01:14PM How Cisco Is Trying To Prove It Can Keep NSA Spies Out of Its Gear
Tuesday November 17, 2015 @08:11AM Snowden Says It's Your Duty To Use an Ad Blocker (for Security)
Monday November 16, 2015 @06:36PM UK PM Wants To Speed Up Controversial Internet Bill After Paris Attacks
Friday November 13, 2015 @09:07PM Ad Networks Using Inaudible Sound To Link Phones, Tablets and Other Devices
Friday November 13, 2015 @06:14PM Self-Encrypting Drives Hardly Any Better Than Software-Based Encryption
Friday November 13, 2015 @08:39AM Justice Officials Fear Nation's Biggest Wiretap Operation May Not Be Legal
Friday November 13, 2015 @08:32AM Broadband Bills Will Have To Increase To Pay For Snooper's Charter, MPs Warned
Thursday November 12, 2015 @02:57PM Ask Slashdot: How To Determine If One Is On a Watchlist?
Thursday November 12, 2015 @01:49PM Google's New About Me Tool Is the Anti-Google+
Thursday November 12, 2015 @09:26AM Prison Hack Shows Attorney-Client Privilege Violation
Thursday November 12, 2015 @08:58AM Webmail Services Struggling Against DDoS Attacks
Thursday November 12, 2015 @08:45AM Tor Project Claims FBI Paid University Researchers $1m To Unmask Tor Users
Monday November 09, 2015 @08:54PM UK Gov't Can Demand Backdoors, Give Prison Sentences For Disclosing Them
Monday November 09, 2015 @03:36PM US Judge Rules Against NSA In Phone Spying Case
Monday November 09, 2015 @01:06PM Comcast Resets Nearly 200,000 Passwords After Customer List Goes On Sale
Sunday November 08, 2015 @08:36AM The FCC Says It Can't Force Google and Facebook To Stop Tracking Their Users
Friday November 06, 2015 @06:33PM TalkTalk Hack: 4% of Customers' Data Accessed In Cyber Security Breach
Friday November 06, 2015 @06:26PM Controversial New UK Internet Powers Bill Makes No Mention of VPNs
Thursday November 05, 2015 @10:46PM Canada Reinstates Mandatory Census, To Delight of Social Scientists
Thursday November 05, 2015 @10:27PM Senators Attempting To Remove Robocall Loophole
Thursday November 05, 2015 @02:27PM Sprint Faces Backlash For Adding MDM Software To Devices
Wednesday November 04, 2015 @03:59PM Nine Out of Ten of the Internet's Top Websites Are Leaking Your Data
Wednesday November 04, 2015 @01:40PM How California Police Are Tracking Your Biometric Data In the Field
Tuesday November 03, 2015 @12:47PM What Your Photos Know About You
Tuesday November 03, 2015 @12:27PM Firefox 42 Arrives With Tracking Protection, Tab Audio Indicators
Tuesday November 03, 2015 @11:08AM Stanford Identifies Potential Security Hole In Genomic Data-Sharing Network
Monday November 02, 2015 @09:56PM Internet Firms To Be Banned From Offering Unbreakable Encryption Under New UK Laws
Monday November 02, 2015 @02:08PM Tor Releases Messenger Beta For Secure Chat
Monday November 02, 2015 @01:29PM Anonymous Begins Publishing Ku Klux Klan Member Details Online
Sunday November 01, 2015 @09:08AM EU Parliament: Citizens' Rights Still Endangered By Mass Surveillance
Saturday October 31, 2015 @06:09PM UK Police Make Third Arrest Over TalkTalk Cyber Attack
Saturday October 31, 2015 @03:21PM Ask Slashdot: Securing a Journalist's Laptop Against a Police Search?
Thursday October 29, 2015 @02:24PM Non-Binding Resolution: EU States Should Protect Snowden
Thursday October 29, 2015 @11:50AM Hackers, Activists, Journos: How To Build a Secure Burner Laptop
Thursday October 29, 2015 @08:04AM UK Government Says App Developers Won't Be Forced To Implement Backdoors
Tuesday October 27, 2015 @11:55AM Univ. of New Haven Cyber Lab: WhatsApp Collects Phone Numbers, Call Duration, and More
Tuesday October 27, 2015 @07:05AM Judge: Defendant 'Had a Right' To Shoot Down Drone
Thursday October 22, 2015 @04:08PM Dutch Researchers Show Connected Cars Can Be Cheaply Tracked
Thursday October 22, 2015 @03:45PM Reactions Split On What Canada's Liberal Majority Means For Tech Policy Future
Tuesday October 20, 2015 @11:40AM Replacing Humans With CGI Animations To Protect Anonymity In Video Footage
Tuesday October 20, 2015 @11:10AM Irish Data Protection Commissioner Ordered To Investigate Facebook Data
Tuesday October 20, 2015 @08:38AM UK's Largest Online Pharmacy Sold Patients' Personal Data To Fraudsters
Saturday October 17, 2015 @03:30PM Beware: FBI, Other Agencies Might Go After Your Voluntary DNA Records
Friday October 16, 2015 @06:19PM House of Representatives Proposal Aims To Regulate Car Privacy
Friday October 16, 2015 @06:23AM UK MPs Hold Emergency Debate After Court Makes It Legal For GCHQ To Spy On Them
Wednesday October 14, 2015 @04:40PM German Police Warn Parents To Stop Posting Photos of Kids On Facebook
Wednesday October 14, 2015 @04:37PM If You're Not Paranoid About Your Privacy, You're Crazy
Tuesday October 13, 2015 @11:45AM Australian ISPs Not Ready For Mandatory Data Retention
Monday October 12, 2015 @05:08PM British Police Stop 24/7 Monitoring of Julian Assange At Ecuadorian Embassy
Monday October 12, 2015 @12:03PM Bernie Sanders Comes Out Against CISA
Sunday October 11, 2015 @08:45PM Obama Backs Away From Law To Access Encrypted Information
Sunday October 11, 2015 @03:32PM Cryptome Accidentally Leaks Its Own Visitor IP Addresses
Thursday October 08, 2015 @06:02PM SIgn Of the Times: Calif. Privacy Protections Signed Into Law
Thursday October 08, 2015 @08:32AM IP Address May Associate Lyft CTO With Uber Data Breach
Wednesday October 07, 2015 @05:10PM Rookie Dongle Warns Parents When Their Kids Are Driving Too Fast
Wednesday October 07, 2015 @04:43PM Ask Slashdot: Where Can I Find "Nuts and Bolts" Info On Cookies & Tracking Mechanisms?
Wednesday October 07, 2015 @02:35PM Wealth of Personal Data Found On Used Electronics Purchased Online
Tuesday October 06, 2015 @07:17AM EU Court of Justice Declares US-EU Data Transfer Pact Invalid
Tuesday October 06, 2015 @07:09AM Data Transfer Pact Between U.S. and Europe Is Ruled Invalid
Tuesday October 06, 2015 @07:08AM EU Court Invalidates Europe-US Safe Harbour Data Sharing Agreement
Tuesday October 06, 2015 @07:04AM Europe's highest court just rejected the US's 'safe harbor' agreement
Monday October 05, 2015 @07:46PM EFF Joins Nameless Coalition and Demands Facebook Kills Its Real Names Policy
Sunday October 04, 2015 @09:31PM Google Lets Advertisers Target By (Anonymized) Customer Data
Sunday October 04, 2015 @12:48PM Ask Slashdot: Best Country For Secure Online Hosting?
Sunday October 04, 2015 @10:09AM Stolen Patreon User Data Dumped On Internet
Saturday October 03, 2015 @08:28AM DHS Detains Mayor of Stockton, CA, Forces Him To Hand Over His Passwords
Thursday October 01, 2015 @08:52PM Experian Breached, 15 Million T-Mobile Customer's Data Exposed
Thursday October 01, 2015 @03:16PM Patreon Hacked, Personal Data Accessed
Thursday October 01, 2015 @10:20AM Yelp For People To Launch In November
Wednesday September 30, 2015 @04:28PM South Korean Citizen IDs Vulnerable, Based On US Model
Tuesday September 29, 2015 @02:05PM FBI and DEA Under Review For Misuse of NSA Mass Surveillance Data
Tuesday September 29, 2015 @01:25PM Snowden Joins Twitter, Follows NSA
Tuesday September 29, 2015 @12:17PM Newly Found TrueCrypt Flaw Allows Full System Compromise
Monday September 28, 2015 @08:34PM How the FBI Hacks Around Encryption
Monday September 28, 2015 @09:49AM Phone Passwords Protected By 5th Amendment, Says Federal Court
Monday September 28, 2015 @08:38AM Edward Snowden Promotes Global Treaty To Curtail Surveillance
Sunday September 27, 2015 @12:15PM Ask Slashdot: Make Windows Update Install Only Security Updates Automatically?
Friday September 25, 2015 @07:35PM Chrome For Android's Incognito Mode Saves Some of the Sites You Visit
Friday September 25, 2015 @06:54AM 'RipSec' Goes To Hollywood: How the iCloud Celeb Hack Happened
Thursday September 24, 2015 @05:29PM EU May Forbid the Transfer of Personal Data To the US
Thursday September 24, 2015 @05:23PM Obama Administration Explored Ways To Bypass Smartphone Encryption
Thursday September 24, 2015 @12:41PM IBM's Watson Is Now Analyzing Your Vacation Photos
Thursday September 24, 2015 @07:13AM Does IoT Data Need Special Regulation?
Wednesday September 23, 2015 @08:53PM Russia's Plan To Crack Tor Crumbles
Wednesday September 23, 2015 @11:53AM OPM Says 5.6 million Fingerprints Stolen In Cyberattack
Tuesday September 22, 2015 @09:04PM Researchers Push For Access To Confidential Government Records of the Public
Tuesday September 22, 2015 @02:10PM Morgan Stanley Employee Pleads Guilty In Data Breach Case
Tuesday September 22, 2015 @02:03PM Lenovo Collects Usage Data On ThinkPad, ThinkCentre and ThinkStation PCs
Tuesday September 22, 2015 @10:32AM Chinese Researchers Propose Tor-Inspired Overhaul of Bitcoin
Tuesday September 22, 2015 @09:49AM Under Public Pressure, India Withdraws Draft Encryption Policy
Monday September 21, 2015 @04:43PM France Tells Google To Remove "Right To Be Forgotten" Search Results Worldwide
Monday September 21, 2015 @12:48PM George W Bush Made Retroactive NSA 'Fix' After Hospital Room Showdown
Monday September 21, 2015 @08:16AM India's Worrying Draft Encryption Policy
Saturday September 19, 2015 @08:44PM Private Medical Data of Over 1.5 Million People Exposed Through Amazon
Saturday September 19, 2015 @08:19AM AVG Proudly Announces It Will Sell Your Browsing History To Online Advertisers
Tuesday September 15, 2015 @07:50AM How To Find Out If GCHQ and the NSA Spied On You, and How To Complain
Monday September 14, 2015 @11:43AM Sen. Ron Wyden Says CISA Data Collection Could Put Americans At Risk
Sunday September 13, 2015 @05:14PM Ask Slashdot: Best Country To Avoid Government Surveillance?
Thursday September 10, 2015 @09:03AM Despite Reports of Hacking, Baby Monitors Remain Woefully Insecure
Tuesday September 08, 2015 @08:23AM Ashley Madison Source Code Shows Evidence They Created Bots To Message Men
Tuesday September 08, 2015 @07:31AM Concern Over India PM's Silicon Valley Visit
Monday September 07, 2015 @10:51PM Windows Telemetry Rolls Out
Monday September 07, 2015 @08:18PM Law Professor: Tech Companies Are Our Best Hope At Resisting Surveillance
Monday September 07, 2015 @11:22AM Apple's Privacy Policies Are Keeping Data Scientists Away
Thursday September 03, 2015 @10:01PM New Cellphone Surveillance Safeguards Imposed On Federal Law Enforcement
Wednesday September 02, 2015 @08:38PM UK Health Clinic Accidentally Publishes HIV Status of 800 Patients
Tuesday September 01, 2015 @11:28AM Smartphone Malware Planted In Popular Apps Pre-sale
Tuesday September 01, 2015 @08:22AM FBI: Burning Man Testing Ground For Free Speech, Drugs ... and New Spy Gear
Sunday August 30, 2015 @07:31AM Chris Christie Proposes Tracking Immigrants the Way FedEx Tracks Packages
Thursday August 27, 2015 @01:38PM Docs: Responding To Katrina, FBI Made Cell Phone Surveillance Its Priority
Thursday August 27, 2015 @10:51AM Tech Nightmares That Keep Turing Award Winners Up At Night
Thursday August 27, 2015 @07:48AM More Cities Use DNA To Catch Dog Owners Who Don't Pick Up Waste
Wednesday August 26, 2015 @11:28PM How To Keep Microsoft's Nose Out of Your Personal Data In Windows 10
Tuesday August 25, 2015 @08:22AM Court: FTC Can Punish Companies With Sloppy Cybersecurity
Tuesday August 25, 2015 @12:08AM A Breakdown of the Windows 10 Privacy Policy
Monday August 24, 2015 @01:55PM Updates Make Windows 7 and 8 Spy On You Like Windows 10
Sunday August 23, 2015 @07:49PM In Baltimore and Elsewhere, Police Use Stingrays For Petty Crimes
Sunday August 23, 2015 @08:50AM Underground Piracy Sites Want To Block Windows 10 Users
Saturday August 22, 2015 @02:23AM Yet Another Compromising Preinstalled "Glitch" In Lenovo Laptops
Friday August 21, 2015 @07:58PM Extortionists Begin Targeting AshleyMadison Users, Demand Bitcoin
Thursday August 20, 2015 @05:40PM More Ashley Madison Files Published
Thursday August 20, 2015 @03:41PM Engaging Newbies In Email Encryption and Network Privacy
Monday August 17, 2015 @02:16PM How an Obscure Acronym Helped Link AT&T To NSA Spying
Sunday August 16, 2015 @12:11PM Documents Reveal Details Behind AT&T-NSA Partnership
Thursday August 13, 2015 @11:57AM The UK's War On Porn: Turning ISPs Into Parents
Thursday August 13, 2015 @09:31AM Facebook Intern Gets Preemptive Ax For Exposing Security Flaw
Wednesday August 12, 2015 @12:43PM Fitbit Wants To Help Corporations Track Employee Health
Tuesday August 11, 2015 @08:39AM Finnish Politician Suggests Embedding Chips In Citizens To Protect the Welfare State
Monday August 10, 2015 @07:06AM Many Australians Forced To Pay For "Unbreakable" Cryptolocker Ransomware
Monday August 10, 2015 @02:54AM Stingray-Like Device Enables Blackmail In S. Africa
Friday August 07, 2015 @11:15AM EFF Releases Privacy Badger, an Addon That Algorithmically Blocks Online Trackers
Thursday August 06, 2015 @05:25PM 4th Circuit Holds That Obtaining Extended Cell-Site Records Requires a Warrant
Wednesday August 05, 2015 @03:33PM Spyware Demo Shows How Spooks Hack Mobile Phones
Tuesday August 04, 2015 @10:44AM EFF and MuckRock Need Your Help Tracking Biometric Surveillance
Monday August 03, 2015 @01:08PM EFF Coalition Announces New 'Do Not Track' Standard For Web Browsing
Monday August 03, 2015 @12:28PM Privacy Alert: Your Laptop Or Phone Battery Could Track You Online
Sunday August 02, 2015 @07:05AM New Telemetry Suggests Shot-Down Drone Was Higher Than Alleged
Saturday August 01, 2015 @05:21PM One In Four Indiana Residents' E-Record Data Exposed in Hack
Saturday August 01, 2015 @02:23PM Ask Slashdot: Can You Disable Windows 10's Privacy-Invading Features?
Friday July 31, 2015 @06:34PM GasBuddy Has a New Privacy Policy (Spoiler: Not As Customer Friendly)
Friday July 31, 2015 @05:58PM Questioning the Dispute Over Key Escrow
Thursday July 30, 2015 @07:35PM Germany Won't Prosecute NSA, But Bloggers
Thursday July 30, 2015 @09:45AM A Naysayer's Take On Windows 10: Potential Privacy Mess, and Worse
Thursday July 30, 2015 @08:48AM Kentucky Man Arrested After Shooting Down Drone
Tuesday July 28, 2015 @08:43AM Your Stolen Identity Goes For $20 On the Internet Black Market
Monday July 27, 2015 @12:23PM Google Is Dropping Its Google+ Requirement Across All Products Including YouTube
Sunday July 26, 2015 @10:45PM After Progressive Insurance's Snapshot Hacked, Manufacturer Has Been, Too
Thursday July 23, 2015 @08:59AM US Court: 'Pocket-Dialed' Calls Are Not Private
Wednesday July 22, 2015 @06:52PM New York Judge Rules Against Facebook In Search Warrant Case
Wednesday July 22, 2015 @12:59PM FCC CIO: Consumers Need Privacy Controls In the Internet of Everything Era
Tuesday July 21, 2015 @09:59AM Free Tools For Detecting Hacking Team Malware In Your Systems
Tuesday July 21, 2015 @08:45AM Red Star Linux Adds Secret Watermarks To Files
Monday July 20, 2015 @09:20PM Apple Patents Bank Account Balance Snooping Tech
Monday July 20, 2015 @12:28PM Netragard Ends Exploit Acquisition Program After Hacking Team Breach
Saturday July 18, 2015 @02:30PM Data Store and Spying Laws Found Illegal by EU Court
Wednesday July 15, 2015 @12:29PM Citizenfour Director Sues To Find Out Why She Was Detained Every Time She Flew
Monday July 13, 2015 @06:21PM Encryption Rights Community: Protecting Our Rights To Strongly Encrypt
Sunday July 12, 2015 @10:15AM Snoopers' Charter Could Mean Trouble For UK Users of Encryption-Capable Apps
Friday July 10, 2015 @06:26AM More Than 22 Million People's Data Compromised By OPM Hack
Thursday July 09, 2015 @10:15PM UK Privacy Advocate Caspar Bowden Dies
Thursday July 09, 2015 @10:04PM Australian Cops and Anti-Corruption Agencies Keen On Hacking Team Malware
Tuesday July 07, 2015 @09:12AM Eric Holder Says DoJ Could Strike Deal With Snowden; Current AG Takes Hard Line
Friday July 03, 2015 @06:44AM Cameron Asserts UK Gov't Will Leave No "Safe Space" For Private Communications
Wednesday July 01, 2015 @04:27PM Federal Wiretaps Down Slightly, Encryption Impact Decreases
Saturday June 27, 2015 @07:57AM NIST Updates Random Number Generation Guidelines
Wednesday June 24, 2015 @06:59PM France, Up In Arms Over NSA Spying, Passes New Surveillance Law
Tuesday June 23, 2015 @08:47AM New Snowden Leaks Show NSA Attacked Anti-Virus Software
Monday June 22, 2015 @08:03PM DOJ Vs. Google: How Google Fights On Behalf of Its Users
Monday June 22, 2015 @05:15PM Louisiana Governor Vetoes License Plate Reader Bill, Citing Privacy Concerns
Monday June 22, 2015 @03:29PM Controversial GCHQ Unit Engaged In Domestic Law Enforcement, Online Propaganda
Monday June 22, 2015 @11:57AM Allstate Patents Physiological Data Collection
Monday June 22, 2015 @11:44AM Swedish Investigators Attempt Assange Interview; Wikileaks Makes Major Release
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @10:26PM Canadian Government Servers Compromised By Anonymous
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @05:45PM E-Detective Spy Tool Used By Police and Governments Has Major Security Holes
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @02:41PM Is Surespot the Latest Crypto War Victim?
Wednesday June 17, 2015 @02:31PM Privacy Advocates Leave In Protest Over U.S. Facial Recognition Code of Conduct
Tuesday June 16, 2015 @10:49AM Should Edward Snowden Trust Apple To Do the Right Thing?
Monday June 15, 2015 @05:19PM Belgian Privacy Watchdog Sues Facebook
Monday June 15, 2015 @02:46AM Police Scanning Every Face At UK Download Festival
Sunday June 14, 2015 @10:15AM Santander To Track Customer Location Via Mobiles and Tablets
Sunday June 14, 2015 @12:42AM Amazon Publishes Opaque Transparency Report
Saturday June 13, 2015 @02:05PM Germany Abandons Investigation Into NSA Spying on Chancellor Merkel
Thursday June 11, 2015 @08:42AM OpenBazaar, Born of an Effort To Build the Next Silk Road, Raises $1 Million
Wednesday June 10, 2015 @06:30PM Fake Mobile Phone Towers Found To Be "Actively Listening In" On Calls In UK
Tuesday June 09, 2015 @08:28AM Developer Draws Legal Threat For Exposing Indian Telco's Net Neutrality Violation
Sunday June 07, 2015 @05:55PM Report: Internet Users Feel Powerless To Protect Their Privacy From Corporations
Friday June 05, 2015 @06:39AM US Prosecutors Say Clearing Browser Data Can Be Obstruction of Justice
Friday June 05, 2015 @06:33AM Governments of the World Agree: Encryption Must Die!
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @03:12PM FBI Is Behind Mysterious Flights Over US Cities
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @07:23AM US Airport Screeners Missed 95% of Weapons, Explosives In Undercover Tests
Saturday May 30, 2015 @06:36PM Orange County Public Schools To Monitor Students On Social Media
Thursday May 28, 2015 @12:03PM Ads Based On Browsing History Are Coming To All Firefox Users
Thursday May 28, 2015 @07:57AM IRS: Personal Info of 100,000 Taxpayers Accessed Illegally