Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Piracy

TPB Files Police Complaint Against CPIAC for Copying Website 268

Posted by Unknown Lamer
from the this-is-gonna-be-good dept.
Last week, a Finnish anti-piracy agency copied the CSS and HTML of The Pirate Bay. Today, TPB announced that they have filed a police report and are preparing to sue for copyright infringement: "The Pirate Bay, the world’s largest site for cultural diversity and file sharing, has today (Monday 2013-02-18) reported a suspected crime to the Finnish police. The suspected criminals are the Finnish anti-piracy organization CIAPC (locally known as TTVK). The reason is that CIAPC have copied files from which The Pirate Bay is built, to produce a fraudulent parody site. While The Pirate Bay may have a positive view on copying, it will not stand by and watch copyright enforcing organizations disrespect copyright." The Pirate Bay is also arguing that parody laws do not apply thanks to recent legal precedent.
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

TPB Files Police Complaint Against CPIAC for Copying Website

Comments Filter:
  • by Anonymous Coward on Monday February 18, 2013 @08:12PM (#42940121)

    Hopefully commentors will understand it isn't TPB which is being hypocritical here.

    "Well did you hit her first?"

  • Win-Win (Score:5, Insightful)

    by Niterios (2700835) on Monday February 18, 2013 @08:16PM (#42940155)
    If they lose, they prove a point: copyright laws are only in favor of a few. If they win, they expand their list of successful trolling.
    • Re:Win-Win (Score:5, Insightful)

      by Fluffeh (1273756) on Monday February 18, 2013 @08:23PM (#42940189)

      Either way, it makes for an interesting play. It will be interesting to see how this plays out - is it really the same set of rules that everyone has to play by, or do those rules only apply if a big corp says they do...

    • Re:Win-Win (Score:5, Informative)

      by MoronGames (632186) <cam.henlinNO@SPAMgmail.com> on Monday February 18, 2013 @08:24PM (#42940203) Journal

      If they lose, they prove a point: copyright laws are only in favor of a few. If they win, they expand their list of successful trolling.

      Exactly this. I'd be willing to bet that everyone on TPB side of this complaint knows that it is ridiculous, but, win or lose, they will prove a point.

      • Re:Win-Win (Score:5, Interesting)

        by Omnifarious (11933) <eric-slashNO@SPAMomnifarious.org> on Monday February 18, 2013 @09:22PM (#42940539) Homepage Journal

        Yes, the people complaining about the hypocrisy of TPB here are really missing the point. This isn't hypocrisy, it's high satire with the legal system playing the straight man. It's brilliant.

        • I guess I don't see how this can possibly be a win for TPB. The copyright on the CSS will get enforced, the parody site will come down or change, and the other copyright infringement cases against TPB will proceed. TPB will have themselves a good laugh for about a day and then continue facing the existing lawsuits. The parody site is really, really small potatoes compared to the massive amounts of copyright infringement occurring via trackers that TPB distributes that media corps have a vested interest i
          • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

            by Omnifarious (11933)

            If TPB wins, the copyright maximalists end up with egg on their face over a law even they can't seem to follow. I will admit that the TPB winning this case is actually the worst outcome. Though the hay they can make while it's going on is almost worth it. I'm imagining the copyright maximalists are going to have some pretty interesting defenses.

            But, if they lose, it's really clear that this is all about making sure the rules apply to the 'right' people. And it will done in a really public way that tells th

            • Like I said, everyone will have a laugh for about a day when this parody site gets taken down or whatever, but things will continue as they are. It's not like the copyright people are going to drop all of their claims because they don't want to look like hypocrites on this one parody site. They'll enforce copyright against the parody site (which will require admitting that they were in the wrong and TPB has a legitimate copyright claim), but who gives a shit about that parody site? And then they will con
    • If they lose, they may just show that putting a link on your website saying you want to be copied makes it legal to copy it.

  • Couldn't be better (Score:5, Insightful)

    by folderol (1965326) on Monday February 18, 2013 @08:24PM (#42940205) Homepage
    I'm astonished at how many people right across the technology forums don't seem to get what an amazing opportunity has been handed to The Pirate Bay... on a plate! They would be absolute fools to not make the most of this, and really rub the copyright lobby's noses in their own poo.

    Talking about them being hypocritical is nonsense. They are rolling on the floor laughing while they poke at CPIAC with the very laws that were being used against them. I reckon this will just run and run, and I'll thoroughly enjoy it.
  • Missing the point (Score:5, Informative)

    by Agent.Nihilist (1228864) on Monday February 18, 2013 @08:27PM (#42940233)

    If you first though is hypocrisy, you've missed the point.
    If you believe a tool or process is broken, and have advocated about how it needs to change, then using said tool to directly illustrate how broken something is is far from hypocrisy. In this case they are using it to highlight the hypocrisy of the groups promoting high levels/draconian enforcement of copyright.

    There is also the issue of actual content theft. Not the MPAA/RIAA's so called theft, where a distribution control is being breached, but taking content developed by another and claiming it as your own. You know, the thing copyright was actually invented for.
    Remember, even the Pirate Party doesn't call for a total abolition of copyright, just a reform to more reasonable terms instead of multiple lifetimes.

  • Kopimi... no? (Score:5, Interesting)

    by The Raven (30575) on Monday February 18, 2013 @08:58PM (#42940389) Homepage

    I don't understand, actually. TPB proudly displays the anti-copyright symbol (Kopimi [kopimi.com]), so are they not explicitly granting permission to use their HTML and CSS? While the CIAPC are dicks, it seems hypocritical to grant permission to copy only when they like the person.

    • Re:Kopimi... no? (Score:4, Informative)

      by fatphil (181876) on Tuesday February 19, 2013 @08:47AM (#42943413) Homepage
      It also has as the leading paragraph on its "usage policy" page:
      """
      Our site (and all of its contents) is free of charge for anyone for personal usage. Organisations (for instance, but not limited to, non-profit or companies) may use the system if they clear this with the system operators first. [...]
      """

      TPB do still "want to be copied" (which is all the kopimi indicates, it's not a legal declaration that you are waiving your copyright), as long as it's the right people doing it for the right reasons.

      I want to have sex, as long as it's with my g/f rather than Bubba from cell block H.
  • "fraudulent parody site" -> sounds like fair use to me.

    • Re:Fair Use (Score:5, Informative)

      by LilWolf (847434) on Monday February 18, 2013 @09:23PM (#42940545)
      There was recently a case in Finland where a person made a parody of a site that offered the opportunity to report childporn sites to an organisation that would then forward them to the police. The organisation sued said person and won. What the copyright organisation is doing here is no different from that so under Finnish law they could be in hot water.
      • Except it does not contain child porn, so it is very different in practice.

        • by LilWolf (847434)
          Neither did the parody site. All it did was mimic the layout of the organisations site and change some texts used there(Save the Children turned into Save the Paedophiles etc. Clear parodies and certainly no child porn.)

          That's essentially what the copyright organisation is doing here. They mimicked TPB appearance, changed some graphics and texts and where links lead to.
  • by Virtucon (127420) on Monday February 18, 2013 @09:40PM (#42940657)

    ROFLMAO

    the world’s largest site for cultural diversity

    How is hosting torrents for copyrighted material cultural diversity? I tried to download "Debbie Does Dallas" and the )(*@)(# file was subtitled in Swedish! What good is that? Is that what they mean by "cultural diversity?"

  • But i think its a good move for the reasons many have already mentioned.

    One point i think has been missed, is as i understand it, TPB is ok with people using their CSS and stuff, as long as they ask permission first.... which the CIAPC didn't.

    I wonder if this was actually a bit of a sting job or an IT guy within the CIAPC having a laugh.

    Boss: We want to make a parody of TPB Mr. IT Guy... whip us one up.
    IT Guy: LOL... oh boy, i'm going to have some LULZ here.

  • by runeghost (2509522) on Tuesday February 19, 2013 @01:46AM (#42941877)

    On the one hand, yeah, pirate site complains about piracy, lol. On the other hand, TTVK Ry seem to be complete hypocrites and I can't really criticize TPB too much for exposing their hypocrisy. On the gripping hand, isn't there some better way to expose said hypocrisy than via the system that the Pirate Bay's very existence opposes? And, on a different tentacle completely how (if at all) is this different from Ron Paul, "Mr. Libertarian Free-Markets" trying to use the UN to seize a domain name he's unwilling to pay for? I disapproved of Representative Paul's actions, does that mean I'm logically/morally/ethically committed to seeing TPB as being in the wrong on this one? (FWIW, in general, I support TPB and am displeased with Ron Paul - I don't want to let either position color my thinking unduly.)

If a thing's worth having, it's worth cheating for. -- W.C. Fields

Working...